Nestled in the heart of San Antonio, our building has a rich and vibrant community history!
City Veterinary Hospital was at one time a residential home. It was built in the 1860′s by a Dutch immigrant and is unique in this area for its traditional Netherlands architectural style. The foundation was built with a strengthening wall around the entire exterior that extends 9 feet deep into the earth! Stacked on top of that wall are blocks of Caliche natural clay, a very uncommon material for this area.
The building remained a residential home until the early 1930s when it was converted into a small business. The type of business is unknown, but shortly after, the building was transformed into a soap factory. The original wood floors were covered with our current concrete floors and a drainage system was built into the floors, allowing for easy clean up at the factory.
In 1945, our building made its debut as a veterinary hospital. Purchased by Dr. John N. McCamish, Sr, our building became the very first exclusively small animal veterinary hospital in San Antonio city limits. Dr. John N. McCamish, Sr greatly extended the size of the building by adding the entire back half of the hospital. A large portion of the building is built of brick, all of which was added to the property in 1960, nearly 100 years after the building was originally constructed! The hospital flourished as a companion animal hospital for nearly 40 years.
In 1985, the business was purchased by Dr. Wells, who not only continued to treat companion animals but also invited horses back into the fold. In fact, this hospital was one of the first in the area to practice equine acupuncture and chiropractic! Our Lead Technician, Scotty, even remembers doing lame tests on horses in the back alley!